The Difference Between (Southern) Men and Women


Venus and Mars

Redesigned logo used from 2011-present.
Image via Wikipedia

1. Women like hanging out in Starbucks and drinking chai tea.  Believe it or not–men will walk straight past a Starbucks to get to a Five Guys or Firehouse sub.

2. Women like Sephora.  Men will walk right by Sephora to enter a Pro Bass Shop.

3. Women like to get their nails done.  Men like to hunt deer.

4. Women prefer wine.  Men drink beer and whiskey.

5. Women like jewelry.  Men don’t.

6.  Women like to shop.  Men like to stand outside of stores, or park themselves in big comfy chairs in the shops.

7.  Women like to go to the hairdresser and read a fresh People.  Men go to the barber shop and thumb through a crumpled old copy of Maxim with pages missing.

8.  Women like the sound and smell of Chanel.  Men like the sound and smell of Indy racecar engines.

9.  Women like go to a movie and then want to talk about it afterwards.  Men may go to a movie and then walk out of the theater and drive straight home.

10. Women collect fabric swatches; men like to hunker down on upholstered fabric.

11.  Women like to moisturize.  Men don’t.

12.  Women like to watch events–such as royal weddings–in a light and airy room, occasionally glancing out the window to catch any signs of spring.  Then talk about who looked good and who didn’t.  Men like to watch Sports Center in a basement or man cave, with curtains drawn and shutters closed.  Then later talk about which player looked good and who didn’t.

13.  Women like Oxygen, TLC and Food Network.  Men like Pawn Stars, Storage Wars, Ice Road Truckers, and the Three Stooges.

14.  Women like a true chicken salad and sweet tea for lunch.  Men. so. don’t.  (see sub and burger chains above).

15.  Women like small boutiques; men like big box chain stores.

16.  Women like to share Barefoot, Giada and Paula recipes; men like to swap hunting, fishing and golfing stories.

17. Women like to dine al fresco.  Men like to dine al Longhorn.

18.  Women like cafes.  Men like cigar shops.

19.  Southern men seem to love guys named Bubba, Buddy, Junior, Sonny, and any double name involving ‘Bob,’ and think they are an. absolute. hoot.  Women think they are only half a hoot, if indeed, a hoot at all.  Maybe they ‘got the party started’ in high school, but that’s where it about ended.

20. Women love etsy, pinterest and houzz; men. just. flat. out. don’t.

side-note:  (Men and women both like Apple, the Food Court and Victoria’s Secret).

Maxim (magazine)

Image via Wikipedia

About reelingintheyears.wordpress.com

A freelance writer who revels in the 1970's...and today. Thoughts on being a baby baby boomer and empty nester. Welcome to the Saturday evening porch.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to The Difference Between (Southern) Men and Women

  1. Tori Nelson says:

    Oh. Oh God. I might just be a dude. No. Wait. I definitely birthed a kid. Thank goodness!

  2. winsomebella says:

    I do believe I was a woman of the South in a previous life–maybe that is why I always look forward to your posts 🙂

  3. So good to ‘see’ you!! Spot on with this post and guess what? Northern women and men are a lot like this too, at least in our neck of the woods. 😉

  4. k8edid says:

    Nailed it! Love it!

  5. chlost says:

    I must be a mutt. Love the comfy chairs at the stores, and a true chicken salad, but with unsweet tea.
    Great descriptions!

  6. ryoko861 says:

    Did you ever notice that Marge has big hooters?
    Anyway…..#11…my son and husband like moisturizers..! OMG, does that make them metrosexual? Eww, we are so not metrosexual.
    I never take my husband shopping. Then again, Kohl’s doesn’t have big comfy chairs.
    This was great! I’m from the north, but northern guys have a great deal in common with southern guys, especially those from Pennsylvania (BIG NASCAR area here and hunting).

  7. Hey Ryoko! I do love hearing about a man who moisturizes–but even more, who spf’s…
    OK–NC and GA have big Nascar and hunting to boot…we lead parallel lives.
    Meanwhile–don’t want to think about Marge, except in cartoon terms…

  8. I like white meat he prefers dark…too dry he says. The dark meat is more moist? Huh? You’re right about VS. Loved this!

  9. Thanks, G! Ooooh, fried chicken–good one! And men don’t like pimento cheese!!

  10. Leah says:

    This is great! So funny. But I must say, I’m not a fan of Sephora at all. Maybe that’s why I don’t live in the south.

  11. What a great list, Reeling. I can tell you thought a lot about this one! But I have to say that on #13 I am with the men-folk on Ice Road Truckers. That character Lisa, I just feel like I can relate to her. So independent and determined, and she doesn’t take flak from any of the guys. If she wasn’t in the show, I’d never watch. A bunch of men driving trucks? Whoever came up with that idea must have been desperate. I believe that’s how the series started. Then they added in the ladies and all the sudden it gets ratings. 🙂

  12. Coming East says:

    Even though I live in the South, I’m originally a Northeast girl, so our lists are slightly different, but I loved your list, and from some of the Southern men I know, I think you are dead on. Very funny post!

  13. And the list goes on and on. good start.

  14. Thanks so much, CE–that means the world to me!

  15. Hilarious! My husband likes to stand in stores with his arms crossed while I shop. I have to tell him to be a man and find a chair or go outside (my preference for him). I miss you, Reeling! We go way back in blogging history, don’t we?! Hopefully I am back aboard the blogging train now!

  16. Love it, Amiable! Miss you, too. We do go waaaaay back! You are so back aboard!

  17. Kim Holloway says:

    Love this! My boyfriend refers to the cosmetics/perfume section of stores as the “estrogen department.”

  18. Hysterical–thanks so much, Kim! Was just visiting your blog a moment ago–love it, and love them hush ’em up pups!

  19. Really enjoy your blog. Having recently moved back down South after many years in the Chicago area, I can tell you the differences aren’t specific to the South–except for sweet tea and the Bubba bit. Hey, men are men–that is the American ones.

  20. Dianna says:

    So funny. But, um…..my hubby is a Junior. And he can be a real hoot!

  21. Doesn’t everyone love us some Juniors, Dianna! And don’t we all love some real hoots in this world!

  22. Hahaha! A lot of these men and women in Canada can relate to!

Leave a Reply

