Can the World Not Behave Itself for Five Minutes? Texts You Don’t Want to Get While On Vacation


Paris Sunset from the Louvre window

Paris Sunset from the Louvre window (Photo credit: Dimitry B)

Why is it when you try to embrace the empty nest, the helicopters appear instead?  Why is it, indeed, any time you try and take a vacash–the world erupts? You and your husband were just in Paris in order to hunker down in musees, window shop, eat steak frites and sip Meursault.  Tres relaxing and romantique, oui?

Oui, until…well, here are the various vacation texts and messages you have had rude awakenings to,  received from family and offspring, over the past years:

News Channel 8 helicopter fly by.

News Channel 8 helicopter fly by. (Photo credit: jokerswild1963)

2004. Mom, I knew you’d hear about it in the news (when they mention the news it’s curtains) but our neighborhood flooded and we can’t get out.  A helicopter took a picture of our babysitter paddling a canoe.

2006. Mom, I know you’ve probably already heard about it on the news (even worse, because you haven’t).  A Middle-Eastern student drove a Jeep into the quad and tried to run over people.

2011. Mom, I know you’d hear about it in the news.  (!#$?!)    We actually had an earthquake here–first one since 1897–but I’m fine.

 2012. Sis–hope your kids are okay.  I heard about the shooting–how horrible.

2012. Mom, please don’t worry, but there’s a hurricane headed here, but I’m fine.

And the most heinous ever, you can’t even put into print.  March 5, 2008.  In memory of EMC.

You swore off watching CNN while on vacash.  Now you hardly daren’t.

Do.You.Need.Something.Else.To.Worry.Over?

Can you trust the world to take care of itself, in your absence?

Can’t the world behave itself for four days?  Much less,  five minutes?

Your heart goes out to the victims of Sandy.

 
About reelingintheyears.wordpress.com

A freelance writer who revels in the 1970's...and today. Thoughts on being a baby baby boomer and empty nester. Welcome to the Saturday evening porch.
This entry was posted in family, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Can the World Not Behave Itself for Five Minutes? Texts You Don’t Want to Get While On Vacation

  1. Jim says:

    Haven’t you learned by now not to go on vacation? 🙂

  2. ryoko861 says:

    You could just accidentally leave your cell home. Ooops!

  3. Vanesa Delgado says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  4. Evidently, the crazy world can NOT behave itself! That mean ol’ storm Sandy threatened my sanity (son in NJ and daughter in WVA) the week of our last family wedding. Still praying for all those affected. On a happier note, even though I know you’re not that into blogging awards, one recently landed in my lap and I nominated your blog for it in my post today. http://mamasemptynest.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/danke-my-liebster/ Just wanted to spotlight my favorite blogs written by some of my favorite people, including you!! Be blessed!

  5. Awww, M.E.N, I’m so sorry to hear that but glad you all pulled through!
    And you have made my day and week and holiday! Thank you, kind friend! I’m going to read your post right now…!

Leave a Reply

